PolyThinker

NYU Poly

And for that matter:

  • RPI
  • WPI
  • MIT (Even though they don’t call themselves so…)
  • Probably a lot more…

is/are Polytechnic schools. Meanings, they are schools that train and teach in many engineering, technical and scientific fields of study, and have a high focus on these fields.

NYU Poly, filling out the application for it, asked me one question in particular that was really interesting.

How are you a ‘PolyThinker’?

Now…. I had trouble answering this question at first, so to help me come up with an answer, I decided to look it up. I came across this on there site:

PolyThinking Defined

  • noun
    1. an innate capacity of analysis or problem-solving characterized by a healthy suspicion of obvious or widely-held conclusions
    2. an act of thinking in parallel that optimizes how the brain processes information
  • verb
    1. to conceive of technological, scientific, mathematic, visual, and management approaches that illuminate deficiencies in existing approaches
    2. to make micro or macro advances in a field of study that have ripple effects in multiple fields

Well… I had come up with a nice, good answer to this question, and wanted to put it in… and well… There was a 500 character limit, the length of a status update on Facebook, 3.5 times the length of a tweet on Twitter. There is NO way I can answer this appropriately in such a short space. So of course, what do I do? Cut out plenty of it, and give a ‘good enough’ answer to it, and come on here to blog my full answer. 😀

A Polythinker is someone who has the innate capacity of problem-solving by being suspicious of widely held conclusions, and think in a parallel manner that optimizes the thought process. Whenever someone tells me that this is a fact, and that I should trust them on that case, I ask, “Why? Why is this true? Could you please prove it to me?” I solve problems the long way, and then make short-cuts after I realize that the widely-held conclusion is true or false. I think about problems in a multitude of ways, to conceive of a solution to them, and combine all the thoughts together to create the conclusion. I look at a problem with both how it would appear to an outside source viewing the intended end result, and of different ways of going about solving the problem. I then break apart how it is supposed to be, to find the branching ways of thoughts to see the fastest and most accurate way of solving said problem.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

